Berlin Noir: The Bernie Gunther Series

Based predominately around Germany and Austria in and around Nazi rule and the subsequent defeat of Germany in World War 2, Philip Kerr’s stories involving German PI Bernie Gunther are dark and harrowing explorations of crime, corruption and violence in a world on the brink of madness.

Over time, I plan on reviewing the entire of this series, beginning with 1989’s March Violets, and which continues to the present day, continuing into 2017 with Prussian Blue

Book 1: March Violets (1989)

Book 2: The Pale Criminal (1990)

Book 3: A German Requiem (1991)

Book 4: The One from the Other (2006)

Book 5: A Quiet Flame (2008)

Book 6: If the Dead Rise Not (2009)